The Collected Plays of Edward Albee (Volume 1)

The first volume of this three-volume collection contains the eight plays written by Albee during his early years as a playwright, from 1958 through 1965. These range from the four brilliant one-act plays with which he exploded on the New York theater scene The Zoo Story, The Death of Bessie Smith, The Sandbox, and The American Dream to his early masterpiece, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?. Also included are two adaptations from notable American novels The Ballad of the Sad Café and Malcolm and Albee s mysteriously fascinating Tiny Alice. This book represents one of the most exciting and bold periods in the career of one of America s most popular and imaginative playwrights.

Table of Contents
Introduction by Edward Albee
The Zoo Story
The Death of Bessie Smith
The Sandbox
The American Dream
Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
The Ballad of the Sad Café
Tiny Alice

Albee, Edward. The Collected Plays of Edward Albee. Vol. 1. New York: Overlook Duckworth, 2004.

Back to Works